Drumtrip Sessions #01 – DJ Extreme

sessions01Welcome to the new regular feature Drumtrip Sessions.
Drumtrip Sessions will exclusively showcase the mixing and selecting talents of DJ’s from across the word. Spinning hardcore, jungle, drum and bass, and maybe even a few surprises.

It is a pleasure to be able to launch the Sessions with a mix by DJextreme. Extreme is responsible for countless jungle mixes spanning the whole spectrum of the genre, often posted on his own blog Hardscore.
It was one of his mixes that really got me into Dillinja’s (slightly) lesser known early productions and remixes, being a huge fan himself.

For this mix he has raided the archives and supplied a deep selection, even including a Dillinja tune I haven’t even heard of! Here’s a few words by the man himself…

This mix began with one record; The Doc Scott Interstate Remix on Butterfly. From here the other tracks fell nicely into place mainly consisting of 1996 beats running with similar styles.

Producers include the likes of J Majik, Photek, Arteq (Optical), Phume (Klute Collaboration), Source Direct, Hidden Agenda plus one of my all time favourites ‘Astrology‘ by Danny Breaks on Droppin’ Science.

Ending with a nice Dillinja track, This is taken from the Japanese import version of R&S Records ‘In order to Dance‘ session one album.

01 Inner Visions – Hidden Menace – Basement
02 Solo – Dominion – Volume
03 Hidden Agenda – Dispatches #2 – Metalheadz
04 Photek – Hybrid – Science
05 System 7 – Interstate (Doc Scott Mix) – Butterfly
06 Phume – Freefall – Selector
07 Source Direct – 2097
08 Jonny L – 2 of us (Photek Remix) – XL
09 Arteq – Amazing – Celluloid
10 DJ Die – Landslide – Full Cycle
11 Yoshie Arakawa (Tekken) – Windermere (T Power dub Mix) – JVC
12 Photek – One Nation
13 Danny Breaks – Astrology – Droppin Science
14 J Majik – Aztek Step – Cutting Edge
15 Dillinja – City of Lights – R&S

About Law

Main author and creator of Drumtrip. I have been listening to and mixing drum and bass in its various forms since 1998. Drumtrip was designed to celebrate the glory years between 1991 and 1997.